
CCR-E-10 (July 2021) 

V I R G I N I A:  IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF FAIRFAX COUNTY 

 

____________________________________________________________            
                               Plaintiff 

       vs.             Civil Action No.     CL______-_________ 

             

 

             Previous Chancery No.    CH________________________  

__________________________________________________________________  
                              Defendant   

SERVE: 

 

 

FRIDAY MOTIONS DAY – PRAECIPE/NOTICE 

 
Moving Party:     _____   Plaintiff       _____    Defendant      _____    Other 
       
Title of Motion: ________________________________________________________       _____ Attached   _____ Previously Filed  
 

DATE TO BE HEARD: _____________________________ Time Estimate (combined no more than 30 minutes): _______________  
       

Time to be Heard:  _____ 9:00 a.m. with a Judge       
 

    _____10:00 a.m. (Civil Action Cases)  Does this motion require 2 weeks notice?  _____Yes   _____ No 
 

    _____11:30 a.m. (DOMESTIC/Family Law Cases)  Does this motion require 2 weeks notice?    _____Yes   _____No  
         

  Case continued from: ________________________________ continued to: _________________________________  
                                                                                       (Date)      (Date) 
 

           
Judge _______________________________ must hear this motion because (check one reason below): 
 

___ The matter is on the docket for presentation of an order reflecting a specific ruling previously made by that Judge. 

___ This Judge has been assigned to this entire case by the Chief Judge; or, 

___ The Judge has advised counsel that all future motions, or this specific motion, should be placed on this Judge’s 

  Docket; or, 

___ This matter concerns a demurrer filed in a case where that Judge previously granted a demurrer in favor of demurrant. 
 

PRAECIPE by: __________________________________________ ___________________________________________ 
                                         Printed Attorney Name/ Moving Party Name                      Firm Name  
 

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Address  
 

_________________________ _________________________ ____________ ________________________________ 
     Tel. No.               Fax No.           VSB No.        E-Mail Address  

 

CERTIFICATIONS 

I certify that I have in good faith conferred or attempted to confer with other affected parties in an effort to resolve the 

subject of the motion without Court action, pursuant to Rule 4:15(b) of the Rules of the Supreme Court of Virginia; and,  

I have read, and complied with, each of the Instructions for Moving Party on the reverse side of this form. 

 

_______________________________________ 
                         Moving Party/Counsel of Record 

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE 
    
I certify on the ______ day of __________________, __________, a true copy of the foregoing Praecipe was 

_____ mailed  _____faxed _____delivered to all counsel of record pursuant to the provisions of Rule 4:15(e) of the Rules of 

the Supreme Court of Virginia.         

                                                                                                                      _______________________________________ 
                                  Moving Party/Counsel of Record 

 
 

 



CCR-E-10 (July 2021) 

INSTRUCTIONS FOR MOVING PARTY 

    
DATE/TIME: All motions should be noticed for the 10:00 a.m. Civil Action Docket or the 11:30 a.m. Domestic/Family Law  

Docket (All Divorce cases, adoptions and Juvenile & Domestic Relations Court Appeals) unless the moving party believes the 

motion will be uncontested. All motions believed to be uncontested should be noticed for 9:00 a.m.. A minimum of two 

weeks’ notice is required for all motions for Summary Judgment, Demurrers, Pleas in Bar, motions pertaining to 

discovery disputes and other motions for which any party desires to file a memorandum. A memorandum of points and 

authorities of five pages or less must accompany any of these pleadings and any other motion placed on the Two-Week 

Docket. If either party believes it necessary to file a memorandum exceeding five double-spaced pages, then the parties must 

utilize the Briefing Schedule procedure: contact opposing counsel or the opposing party and by agreement conduct a 

telephone conference call with the Calendar Control Judge, (703) 246-2221; or, if agreement is not possible, give advance 

notice of an appearance before the Calendar Control Judge to establish a Briefing Schedule.  

 

Each side should bring a draft proposed order to Court on the day of the hearing, as the ruling must be reduced to an 

order that day, absent leave of Court. Cases may only be removed from the docket by the Court or by counsel for the 

moving party or the moving party. One Week Motions may be removed from the docket up until 4:00 p.m. on the Thursday 

preceding the hearing date, by contacting the Motions Clerk: (703) 246-4355. Two Week Motions may not be continued or 

removed from the docket after 4:00 p.m. on the Friday preceding the hearing date, without leave granted by the Judge 

assigned to hear the motion, for good cause shown. 

 

If a hearing on any motion must take longer than thirty (30) minutes, the moving and responding parties, or their counsel, 

should appear before the Calendar Control Judge to request a hearing for a day other than a Friday. See, “Motions Requiring 

More than 30 Minutes” in “Friday Motions Docket Procedures” on the Court’s website at 

https://www.fairfaxcounty.gov/circuit/sites/circuit/files/assets/documents/pdf/civil-friday-motions-docket-procedures.pdf  

 

MOTIONS TO RECONSIDER: Do not set a Motion to Reconsider for a hearing. (See Friday Motions Docket Procedures, 

available from the Clerk’s Office, the Bar Association office or on the Court’s website at the address above.  

 

CERTIFICATIONS OF MOVING PARTY/COUNSEL: Rule 4:15 (b) of the Rules of the Supreme Court of Virginia 

provides in pertinent part that “Absent leave of court, and except as provided in paragraph (c) of this Rule, reasonable notice 

shall be in writing and served at least seven days before the hearing. Counsel of record shall make a reasonable effort to 

confer before giving notice of a motion to resolve the subject of the motion and to determine a mutually agreeable hearing 

date and time.”  

 

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE: Pursuant to Rule 4:15 (e), a motions pleading shall be deemed served when it is actually 

received by, or in the office of, counsel of record through delivery, mailing, or facsimile transmission; not when it is mailed or 

sent.  
 

INFORMATION FOR MOVING PARTY 
 

  

CONCILIATION PROGRAM: The Fairfax Circuit Court strongly encourages use of conciliation procedures to resolve 

motions. The Fairfax Bar Association’s Conciliation Program conducts conciliation without charge by experienced litigators, 

who meet in person or by telephone with all interested parties. To request conciliation, fax a Request for Conciliation form to 

the Fax Hotline, (703) 273-1274; e-mail a request for conciliation to: ffxconciliation@aol.com; or leave a voice mail message 

at (703) 627-1228. You will be contacted before the hearing date by a representative of the Conciliation Program. 
 

  
 

http://www.courts.state.va.us/courts/scv/rulesofcourt.pdf

	User: 
	Plantiff: 
	Defendant: 
	Civil_action_number: 
	Chancery_number: 
	Serve: 
	Title_of_Motion: 
	attached: Off
	Previously_filed: Off
	Date_to_be_heard: 
	Estimated Time: 
	Continued_date: 
	Continued_to_date: 
	Judge: 
	Judge_1: Off
	Judge_2: Off
	Judge_3: Off
	Judge_4: Off
	Attorney: 
	Firm: 
	Firm Address: 
	Telephone_number: 
	Fax_number: 
	VSB_number: 
	E-mail: 
	Day: 
	Month: 
	Year: 
	mailed: Off
	faxed: Off
	delivered: Off

	Check Box4: Off
	Check Box5: Off
	Check Box6: Off
	Radio Button2: Off
	Radio Button3: Off
	ResetButton: 
	Radio Button1: Off


