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F a i r f a x   C i r c u i t   C o u r t 
 SERVING THE RESIDENTS OF FAIRFAX COUNTY AND THE C ITY OF FAIRFAX   

 

Concealed Handgun Permit Application Process 
 

Any person twenty-one years of age or older may apply in writing to the clerk of the 
circuit court in which he or she resides, or if he or she is a member of the United States 
Armed Forces and stationed outside the Commonwealth, the county or city in which he 
or she is domiciled, for a five-year permit to carry a concealed handgun. 
 

Effective July 1, 2013 - All Concealed Handgun Permit applications are SEALED and not 
viewable by the general public. 
 

Code Reference:  §18.2-308 of the Code of Virginia 
 
Resident of Commonwealth of Virginia Applications Available: 
 

Fairfax Circuit Court Clerk’s Office 
Civil Intake Division (3rd floor) 
4110 Chain Bridge Road 
Fairfax, Virginia 22030 
 

OR 
 

Virginia State Police website at: 
 

http://www.vsp.state.va.us/ 
 

 
 

Non-Resident of the Commonwealth of Virginia Information 
Available:  (Pursuant to Virginia §18.2-308.06) 

 
Virginia State Police website at: 
 
 

https://vsp.virginia.gov/services/firearms/nonresident-concealed-handgun-permits/ 
 
 

 
 

Recorded Information Available: 
 

(703) 691-7320, press 3, 5 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

http://www.vsp.state.va.us/
https://vsp.virginia.gov/services/firearms/nonresident-concealed-handgun-permits/
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Fairfax Circuit Court Procedure for Filing a Concealed Handgun Permit 
Application: 

 
Please read the following instructions carefully.  Compliance with the procedures is 
required for your application to be properly filed with the Circuit Court Clerk’s Office. 
 

In accordance with §18.2-308.04, the court shall issue the permit within forty-five (45) 
days of receipt of the completed application unless it is determined that the applicant is 
disqualified, or the application is incomplete. 
 

First Time Application: 
 

In addition to the completed application and to expedite your application process, 
please provide the clerk with: 
 

• One (1) additional copies of the original completed application. 

• A self-addressed stamped envelope. 

• Two (2) copies of your certificate of competence with a handgun (see p.5). 

• Present the clerk with a valid form of photo identification issued by a 
governmental agency of the Commonwealth or by the U.S. Department of 
Defense or U.S. State Department (passport). 

 
Renewal Application: 
 

Application for permit renewal should be submitted at least 45 days prior to 
expiration of your current permit.  In addition to the completed application 
please provide the clerk with: 
 

• One (1) additional copies of the completed application. 

• A self-addressed stamped envelope. 

• Two (2) copies of the previous Concealed Handgun Permit issued by this 
court or another Virginia circuit court.  

• A photocopy of your valid form of photo identification IS REQUIRED 
(§18.2-308.010).  Failing to include a copy of your ID for a CHP renewal, 
may result in the return of your application 

 
Filing Fee: 
 

• $50.00 (including $10.00 Clerk’s fee; $5.00 State Police fee; and $35.00 
Local Law Enforcement fee = $50.00). 

• Payable by cash, money order, Visa or MasterCard. (Credit cards & cash 
not accepted through the mail) 

• Certified check payable to “Clerk, Fairfax Circuit Court.” 

• NOTE:  NO Personal Checks are accepted by the Clerk’s Office. 
 

File the Completed Application: 
 

• In Person  
▪ Fairfax Circuit Court Clerk’s Office 

        4110 Chain Bridge Road, third (3rd) floor 
        Civil Intake Division 
        Fairfax, VA  22030 
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• Office Hours - 8:00 AM to 4:00 PM, Monday through Friday; barring     
holidays, inclement weather, or other events affecting the Court's operating 
status. 

• Mail-in only available for Renewal Applications 

 
After the Concealed Handgun Application is Filed: 
 

Background Check: 
 

After an application is filed at the Fairfax Circuit Court Clerk’s office, the Fairfax 
County Police Department will conduct a background check on each applicant.  
As part of the background check, an applicant may be asked to undergo a 
voluntary interview with the police if the background check indicates a potential 
reason to disqualify the applicant. 
 
Status of Application: 
 

• Please do NOT call the clerk’s office for information about the status of an 
application.  The information is not available. 

• If you have not received mailed notification about your permit forty-five (45) 
days from the date you submitted the application to the Circuit Court, you 
may call Civil Case Information at 703-691-7320, press 3, 1, 0. 

 
Granting or Denying the Application: 
 

After the Fairfax County Police Department has completed its investigation, the 
application and background information are sent to a circuit court judge.  The 
judge will enter an order in court either granting or denying the Concealed 
Handgun Permit application.   

 
Receiving the Concealed Handgun Permit: 
 

• The Permit will be mailed to the applicant in the provided self addressed 
stamped envelope once the Order has been entered granting the 
Concealed Handgun Permit. 

• The applicant must immediately sign the permit. 
 
 Processing the Concealed Handgun Permit 
 

• The clerk will make two (2) photocopies of the Concealed Handgun Permit:  
one copy for the case file; the other copy for the Virginia State Police for 
further processing. 

• The State Police will enter the permit holder’s name and description in the 
Virginia Criminal Information Network so that the permit’s existence and 
current status will be made known to law-enforcement personnel accessing 
the Network for investigative purposes. 
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Denial of Application 
 
If your application is denied, you will receive instructions from the court on how to 
request an Ore Tenus hearing or motion to reconsider the denial of the application. 

 
Requesting an Ore Tenus Hearing 
 

• Request an Ore Tenus hearing in writing within 21 days of the entry of the final 
order.  (§18.2-308.08(B). 

• If the application is still denied after an Ore Tenus hearing, you may appeal the 
decision to the Court of Appeals as set forth in the Virginia Code §18.2-308.08(C). 

 
Code of Virginia §18.2-308.08(B) 

Upon denial of the application, the clerk shall provide the person with notice in writing, of the 
right to an Ore Tenus hearing.  Upon request of the applicant made within twenty-one days of 
the entry of the final order, the court shall place the matter on the docket for an Ore Tenus 
hearing.  The applicant may be represented by counsel, but counsel shall not be appointed.  
All rules of evidence apply in Ore Tenus hearings.  The final order of the court shall include 
the court’s finding of fact and conclusions of law. 

 
Code of Virginia §18.2-308.08(C) 

Any person denied a permit to carry a concealed handgun under the provisions of this 
section may present a petition for review to the Court of Appeals.  The petition for review 
shall be filed within sixty days of the expiration of the time for requesting an Ore Tenus 
hearing pursuant to subsection I, or if an Ore Tenus hearing is requested, within sixty days of 
the entry of the final order of the circuit court following the hearing.  The petition shall be 
accompanied by a copy of the original papers filed in the circuit court including a copy of the 
order of the circuit court denying the permit.  Subject to the provisions of §17.1-410 B, the 
decision of the Court of Appeals or Judge shall be final.  Not withstanding any other provision 
of law, if the decision to deny the permit is reversed upon appeal, taxable costs incurred by 
the person shall be paid by the Commonwealth. 

 
Most Common Reasons for Denial of a Concealed Handgun Permit 
 

The most common reason’s for denial of a Concealed Weapon Handgun Permit, other 
than a criminal offense, is the failure of applicants to completely fill out question number 
three regarding length of residence on the application and or the failure to answer all 
questions. Failure to answer all questions results in an “incomplete application”. 
 
 Residency: 
 

• If you have lived in your current home less than five (5) years, you must provide a 
separate listing of all addresses where you have lived within the last five years. 

 

• The Police Department must be able to verify your residence. 
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Most Common Reason for Denial of a Concealed Handgun Permit continued: 
 

Application Incomplete: 
 

• Failure to answer any questions on the application may result in a denial of your 
permit.  Including 2nd part of question number four; scars, marks & tattoos. 

 

• Any questions that do not apply to your situation would need to have an answer 
either of “N/A” or “not applicable”, if appropriate. 

 
 

Competence with a Handgun 
 

As part of the police background check it will be required that the applicant demonstrate 
competence with a handgun pursuant to §18.2-308.02 of the 1950 code of Virginia, as 
amended. 
 

 
EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2021, ALL new Concealed Handgun Applications require “IN 
PERSON” Competency Training Certification.  On-line training is no longer an option if 
your application is filed after December 31, 2020, pursuant to Virginia Code Section 
§18.2-308.02(B).  To avoid delay in the issuance of your concealed handgun permit, 
your training certification should state that the training course was “in person”. 
 
 

A photocopy of a certificate of completion of any of the courses or classes; an 
affidavit from the instructor, school, club, organization, or group that conducted or taught 
such course or class attesting to the completion of the course or class by the applicant; 
or a copy of any document which shows completion of the course or class or 
evidence of participation in firearms competition shall constitute evidence of 
qualification under this subsection. 
 
 

The applicant must demonstrate such competence in the following ways: 
 

• Completing any hunter education or hunter safety course approved by the 
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries or a similar agency of another state; 

 

• Completing any National Rifle Association firearms safety or training course; 
 

• Completing any firearms safety or training course or class available to the general 
public offered by a law-enforcement agency, junior college, college, or private or 
public institution or organization or firearms training school utilizing instructors 
certified by the National Rifle Association or the Department of Criminal Justice 
Services; 

 

• Completing any law-enforcement firearms safety or training course or class 
offered for security guards, investigators, special deputies, or any division or 
subdivision of law enforcement or security enforcement; 

 

• Presenting evidence of equivalent experience with a firearm through participation 
in organized shooting competition or current military service (i.e., copy of active 
duty military ID) or proof of an honorable discharge from any branch of the armed 
services (i.e. copy of DD-214 Certificate of Release or Discharge from Active 
Duty). 

 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title18.2/chapter7/section18.2-308.02/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title18.2/chapter7/section18.2-308.02/
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• Obtaining or previously having held a license to carry a firearm in this 
Commonwealth or a locality thereof, unless such license has been revoked for 
cause; 

 

• Completing any firearms training or safety course or class conducted by a state 
certified or National Rifle Association certified firearms instructor.  Certificate 
should include instructor’s certification ID number; 
 

• Completing any governmental policy agency firearms training course and 
qualifying to carry a firearm in the course of normal police duties; or 

 

• Completing any other firearms training which the court deems adequate. 
 
Fees Waived for Concealed Handgun Permit 
 
If you are filing a Concealed Handgun Permit application and are requesting that fees be 
waived in accordance with §18.2-308.03(B) of the 1950 code of Virginia as amended, 
you will need to include with your application documentation to show proof of retirement 

or service in accordance with this code section. 
 
No fee shall be charged for issuance of such permit to a person who has retired from 
service: 
  

 (i) as a magistrate in the Commonwealth of Virginia. 
 

 (ii)  as a special agent with the Alcoholic Beverage Control Board or as a law  
  enforcement officer with the Department of State Police, the Department  
  of Game and Inland Fisheries, or a sheriff or police department, bureau  
  or force of any political subdivision of the Commonwealth, after  
  completing 15 years of service or after reaching age 55;  
 

 (iii) as a law-enforcement officer with the United States Federal Bureau of  
  Investigation, Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms, Secret Service  
  Agency, Drug Enforcement Administration, United States Citizenship and  
  Immigration Services, Customs Service, Department of State Diplomatic  
  Security Service, U.S. Marshals Service or Naval Criminal Investigative  
  Service, after completing 15 years of service or after reaching age 55; 
 

 (iv) as a law-enforcement officer with any police or sheriff’s department   
  within the United States, the District of Columbia or any of the territories  
  of the United States, after completing 15 years of service;  
 

 (v) as a law-enforcement officer with any combination of the agencies  
  listed  in clauses (ii) – (iv) after completing fifteen years of service. 
 
 (vi)  as a designated boarding team member or boarding officer of the United  

 States Coast Guard, after completing 15 years of service or after 
reaching age 55; or  

 
 (vii)  as a correctional officer as defined in § 53.1-1 after completing 15 years 

of service. 
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CONCEALED HANDGUN PERMIT 
REQUEST FOR DUPLICATE PERMIT INSTRUCTIONS 

 
 

In some instances, a duplicate concealed handgun permit can be issued.   
 
Criteria: The petitioner’s current concealed handgun permit must not have expired 

and must have been issued by the Fairfax Circuit Court. 
 

Reasons: 
 Change of Address:              Fee  $10.00 
 

• If your address has changed, you may submit written notice of a change of 
address on a form provided by the Department of State Police, SP-248A (7-1-
2017) 

Change of Name:                   Fee  $5.00 
 

• If your name has changed, you may submit a Request for Duplicate Permit.   
 

• This form must be signed in front of a notary or a deputy clerk.    
 

• Provide a certified copy of the order for name change / marriage license. 
 
 Lost, Stolen or Destroyed:     Fee  $5.00 
 

• If your permit is lost, stolen or destroyed you may submit a Request for 
Duplicate Permit.    

 

• This form must be signed in front of a notary or a deputy clerk.   
 
Methods of Payment: 
 

• Cash (if paying in person) 

• Credit Card (if paying in person) VISA & MasterCard ONLY 

• Certified Check – payable to “Clerk, Fairfax Circuit Court’ 

• Money Order – payable to “Clerk, Fairfax Circuit Court” 

• No Personal Checks will be accepted 
 
Documents to be Filed: 
 

• Request for Duplicate Permit 

• Self-Addressed Stamped Envelope (if you want the duplicate permit mailed to 
you) 

 
Where to File: 
 

  Fairfax Circuit Court 
Attention: CHP Clerk 

  4110 Chain Bridge Road 
  3rd Floor, Court Services Counter 
  Fairfax, VA  22030 
 

   

NOTE: Make sure to include a daytime telephone number on your Request for  
            Duplicate Permit.   
 

  Questions - Contact the CHP Clerk @ 703-246-4256 

https://vsp.virginia.gov/wp-content/uploads/2021/12/SP-248A-Concealed-Handgun-Permit-Change-of-Address-07-01-2017.pdf
https://vsp.virginia.gov/wp-content/uploads/2021/12/SP-248A-Concealed-Handgun-Permit-Change-of-Address-07-01-2017.pdf

